Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Student Leaders, Presidential Scholarship Recipients, and Student Veterans

2016 Board of Visitors Student Brunch Members of the Board of Visitors and administration met with student leaders, recipients of the Presidential Scholarship, and student veterans at a brunch on Sunday, November 6, 2016, at The Inn at Virginia Tech.


What We Do

The Board of Visitors is the governing authority for Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. The Board is composed of 14 members, 13 of whom are appointed by the Governor. The 14th member is the President of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services, who serves ex officio. 

Learn more about our mission, bylaws, and membership.


BOV 2016-17 Group Photo Front Row (left to right): Deborah L. Petrine; Dennis H. Treacy – Vice-Rector; Timothy D. Sands - President; James L. Chapman IV - Rector; Greta J. Harris Middle Row (left to right): Mehmood S. Kazmi; Mehul P. Sanghani; Montasir M. Abbas – Faculty Representative; L. Chris Petersen; Tara Reel – Graduate Student Representative; Gabriel Cohen - Undergraduate Student Representative Back Row (left to right): Alex B. Parrish - Staff Representative; Charles T. “C. T.” Hill; Steve Sturgis; Thanassis Rikakis – Executive Vice President and Provost, Jeffrey E. Veatch; J. Thomas Ryan; Michael J. Quillen; Wayne H. Robinson. Not pictured: Horacio A. Valeiras Jim Stroup photo



Scheduled meetings

Unless otherwise noted, all full Board of Visitors meetings are held at the Torgersen Board Room and all regular committee meetings are held at The Inn at Virginia Tech (always on Monday).

Board of Visitors meeting dates for 2017:

  • April 2-3, 2017
  • June 4-5, 2017
  • September 10-11, 2017
  • November 5-6, 2017


James Chapman, Rector

Contact Us

Ms. Kim O'Rourke
210 Burruss Hall (0131)
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-6231

Board membership contact information